Names are reserved on a first-come basis, but we will manually adjust it if people squat well-known names. Use the ‘edit project summary’ option in the sidebar to change it.
Finally, for obvious reasons, we will always remember past url names for a project, even if someone changes it to something new. The old names will simply redirect to the newer one. That way urls should always resolve (and remain permanent).